Page 3 of 17 < 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 17 >
Topic Options
#1025900 - 31/10/2011 13:49 Re: Snake Spotting [Re: Dawgggg]
Firepac Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Loc: Proserpine
The short answer Trav is no I can't. Its always hard to ascribe human motives to animals that are essentially instinctive and do little in the way of what we would call rational thought.

I have been catching and playing with venomous snakes for many years and have only been what i would call 'attacked' on one occassion, and that was Taipan I cornered while trying to relocate on a hot day and not surprisingly he felt extremely threatened and struck at me repeatedly in self defense.

In my experience, snakes are not aggressive but rather are reactive. They do not have particularly good vision but do detect movement very well. If they see movement and they feel threatened then they may react in 'self defense' but mostly will try to just get away.

In your situation (and this is pure supposition) it detected your approach from your footfalls whilst it was in the grass and feeling threatened decided to hightail it back to somewhere where it felt safe ie its hole in the ground, hollow log etc. In heading in that direction it had to cross the track you were walking on, when it came onto the track it detected the movement of you walking towards it. Instinctively it raised it head to get a better view of what it percieved as a threat, saw you and flared its neck as a warning. If you had stood absolutely still I firmly believe that it would have continued to look around for a short period of time then continued on its way. Running away is fine as long as the snake is not too close as its strike speed is quicker than you can turn and run. The good news is though that you can outrun ANY snake on this planet. From memory I think the fastest speed over the ground ever recorded was a mere 15kph, and that was a Black Mamba, so once out of strike range you were safe to run.