Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#1481482 - 18/12/2018 03:28 Re: If there was no great dividing range?? [Re: gleno71]
marakai Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Loc: Maryfarms NQ
Are we talking anomaly's or actual temperature records? It was hotter in the 1930's by a long way more than now..

#1481504 - 18/12/2018 14:30 Re: If there was no great dividing range?? [Re: gleno71]
niinjaniin Offline
Cloud Gazer

Anyway, would inland Australia get even drier or would it get wetter?

#1481506 - 18/12/2018 14:49 Re: If there was no great dividing range?? [Re: Noname]
Eigerwand Offline
Weather Freak

Originally Posted By: Noname
Good topic.

I studied geology and climate science as well my environmental disasters and sustainability degree. There was a hot topic in climate science subject was talking about if the GDR does not exist.

So, if the land is flat from the plains to the coast in this case with Snowy Mountains to its' south. Easternlies will dominate at seasonal influence. Moist winds should able to reach as far as inland bringing showers with it. I'm certain without GDR for moisty easternlies will make it wetter at seasonal influence. However, no topography to cause orographical uplift of thunderstorms. Should see lesser thunder days, and of course lesser severe storms or supercells in this influence.

Dry westernlies as winter seasonal influence, the east coast should be more drier than today. But this will bring better snow influence in the Snowy Mountains.

So here is an example of Sydney climate averages: