NOTICE!

The Weatherzone forum has now closed and is in read-only mode until the 1st of November when it will close permanently. We would like to thank everyone who has contributed over the past 18 years.

If you would like to continue the discussion you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter or participate in discussions at AusWeather or Ski.com.au forums.

Topic Options
#1152519 - 25/12/2012 09:53 weatherzone radar
Yankee Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 02/11/2011
Posts: 4
Loc: NSW
Is there any way to pan across the map in the zoomed-in radar view? When I click on the + magnifying glass it zooks in ok but makes my location near the bottom of the un-zoomed screen disappear. (I apologise if this is an old topic, but it's a major irritant for me.)

Top
#1152812 - 26/12/2012 23:19 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Yankee]
Things Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 29/11/2009
Posts: 8400
Loc: Blair Athol, SA
The zoom is based around the radar position only AFAIK, I don't think it can be changed.

Top
#1155648 - 06/01/2013 15:09 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Things]
Grinch Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/01/2004
Posts: 1165
Loc: ACT
In terms of radar and the underlying map, what I would like to see is this taken to a whole new level where clicking on a state linked a Google map with all three different views, Sat, Hybrid, Terrain etc.
This would provide significantly more visual clues as to where a particular storm will be going and what is actually getting walloped.
This is one of those "it would be nice to have" ideas but I am confident there would be a lot of support for it. Hell I would pay extra on my subscription for that functionality in the chase season.
cheers

Top
#1156950 - 09/01/2013 22:12 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Grinch]
Things Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 29/11/2009
Posts: 8400
Loc: Blair Athol, SA
Like this? http://www.theweatherchaser.com/maps/

Agreed it'd be pretty awesome smile

Top
#1158295 - 13/01/2013 18:55 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Yankee]
Orion Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 13/02/2001
Posts: 143
Loc: Tamworth NSW Australia
Namoi radar has an issue. It appears to be showing images that are an hour old when compared to Moree

Top
#1158296 - 13/01/2013 18:58 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Orion]
Seabreeze Offline
Weatherzone Moderator

Registered: 18/09/2005
Posts: 10670
Loc: SWR
Originally Posted By: Orion
Namoi radar has an issue. It appears to be showing images that are an hour old when compared to Moree

The radar was obviously affected in some way by the storms moving through there this evening (most likely a power related issue). It is BOM's problem, not Weatherzone's.

Top
#1158310 - 13/01/2013 19:22 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Seabreeze]
Orion Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 13/02/2001
Posts: 143
Loc: Tamworth NSW Australia
Originally Posted By: Seabreeze
Originally Posted By: Orion
Namoi radar has an issue. It appears to be showing images that are an hour old when compared to Moree

The radar was obviously affected in some way by the storms moving through there this evening (most likely a power related issue). It is BOM's problem, not Weatherzone's.

Agree a BOM problem. Looks like Namoi is down although still transmitting images.

Top
#1158578 - 14/01/2013 19:18 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Orion]
Orion Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 13/02/2001
Posts: 143
Loc: Tamworth NSW Australia
Power restored and Namoi back up and running.

Top
#1158997 - 16/01/2013 12:55 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Orion]
Things Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 29/11/2009
Posts: 8400
Loc: Blair Athol, SA
The BoM should really put backup generators/batteries in these things grin

Top
#1168934 - 29/01/2013 19:42 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Things]
El Jefe Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 01/01/2003
Posts: 945
Loc: Parap, NT
Hi WZ,

I'd like to ask when you're going to put the Warruwi Radar on the NT Radars page?

Thanks.
Al.

Top
#1171571 - 12/02/2013 03:43 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: El Jefe]
Willoughby Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 10/05/2003
Posts: 992
Loc: Darwin NT
Originally Posted By: Monsoon Al
Hi WZ,

I'd like to ask when you're going to put the Warruwi Radar on the NT Radars page?

Thanks.
Al.


Yes. smile

Top
#1173553 - 19/02/2013 10:42 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Willoughby]
El Jefe Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 01/01/2003
Posts: 945
Loc: Parap, NT
Warruwi Radar is now there... Thanks WZ wink cheers

Top
#1179926 - 03/03/2013 20:44 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Yankee]
Willoughby Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 10/05/2003
Posts: 992
Loc: Darwin NT
Warruwi radar has been looking awesome the last couple of days with the weatherzone palette. Thanks!

Is there any chance of adding the Bay of Plenty, Mahia, Taranaki and Westland weather radars to NZ's weatherzone? Pretty please!!

Top
#1186840 - 29/03/2013 19:03 Re: weatherzone radar [Re: Yankee]
AUS_Twisted Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 04/12/2008
Posts: 107
Loc: SE, Melbourne
A pan option would be really nice, NWS radar you can click on the map and zoom then move the map around where you want.

http://radar.weather.gov/ridge/radar.php?product=NCR&rid=EAX&loop=yes

Top


Who's Online
0 registered (), 44 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Today's Birthdays
JEFF.H., LaLa, Matt Pearce, Squirel2000, TJK1974, Traveller Steveo, Watcher@Tmba
Forum Stats
29947 Members
32 Forums
24194 Topics
1529242 Posts

Max Online: 2985 @ 26/01/2019 12:05
Satellite Image