Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#1193793 - 13/05/2013 23:01 Weather Stations
Steyr Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 12/05/2013
Posts: 3
Hi all,

I'm looking to buy a weather station and after much research I have found many different features but never all rolled up into one device. The things I would like are:
- Basic weather features (wind, rain, temperature)
- Data logging with PC software
- Automatic upload to a website without the need for the PC to be on (ie. hooks up to home router)
- A nice display that is appealing to look at

Does such a device exist?

I have found a LaCrosse device that is nice and pretty, but does not have the data logging and automatic upload I seek.
http://www.lacrossetechnology.com/308-807/

I have found a device that has the logging and upload that I seek, but it's dull to look at and more importantly does not ship to Australia (not even to companies that will forward to Australia). I could buy the actual weather station locally, but does anyone know if you can get the WeatherBridge data logger component here?
http://www.ambientweather.com/amws2090weatherbridgekit.html

I know Davis has a kit that will do all of what I want, except it looks like an industrial instrument rather than study deskware, plus it's very expensive (I'm after sub $500).

Does anyone have any suggestions for what I seek?
In this day and age is it really that difficult to add a colour LCD and internet connectivity to a weather station? Every other device coming out seems to have those (even fridges!).
What options are available here in Australia?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Top
#1193828 - 14/05/2013 11:24 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
SBT Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 07/02/2007
Posts: 14156
Loc: Townsville Dry Tropics
There are several software options that you can try. Cumulus seems to be very popular and quite easy to set up and use and best of all it is free.

http://sandaysoft.com/products/cumulus free weather station software for websites/desktop

Originally Posted By: Cumulus Website
Cumulus works with the Davis Vantage Pro and Vantage Pro2 weather stations (and the new Vantage Vue), the Oregon Scientific WMR-928 and WM-918 weather stations (and related models), Fine Offset stations such as the WH1081, and the La Crosse WS-2300 range.

Warning: If your weather station is a La Crosse and it is connected using a serial/USB adapter, then you will probably have problems using it with Cumulus, in that you will get erroneous data from time to time – this is a common problem with these stations when used in this way. There doesn’t seem to be anything I can do about this. For this reason, I am sorry to say that I cannot support the use of Cumulus in this way. Note that even if you are using a direct serial connection, I don’t actually own a La Crosse weather station, and there is no official documentation available for the protocol, so I am only able to give limited support for these stations, and if you have any problems it is unlikely that I will be able to anything about it.


If you want out of the box reliability then start with a Davis and to save money buy directly from the USA but ask for a metric unit to save hassles. (Plenty of people here have already done exactly this) Davis are industrial/rural specific weather stations and as such are built for function not looks. If your after pure data then Davis is the go. Coupled with the software above you will end up with a damn fine system.

List of systems that will and won't work with Cumulus.
http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/Supported_Devices

A couple of members in the Cardwell South thread have this connected to Jaycar weather stations but I can't tell you which ones they have.

_________________________
202mm April 2017
Best 156mm 19/5/17
Oct 143mm
2017 Total 836mm
2016 Total 649mm
2015 Total 375mm
2014 Total 1032mm
2013 Total 715mm







Top
#1193841 - 14/05/2013 12:26 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
KevD Offline
Occasional Visitor

Registered: 23/09/2001
Posts: 5079
Loc: Bellingen NSW 2454
Absolutely agree SBT, Davis / Cumulus combo is a great one & one I use at home. Going to download and implement some of the free Cumulus templates available, look great - and free. Cumulus links into many of the other weather data sites as well. Should note it is donation ware, though u do not need to pay anything if u do not want to smile

Top
#1193876 - 14/05/2013 17:22 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
boomer Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 21/11/2010
Posts: 3558
Loc: Cairns
Further to this... what about Mac users? I've been vacillating for years and as for the most part I've been interested in picking big systems (badly) rather than recording, so it has not been a priority.
However, I've also now become interested in the local micro (and that goddam Cairns force field).
I have read many threads discussing the above and have pretty much decided on a Davis (the kudos keep coming) due to both its function and ability to cop a beating (much needed here).
Problem is the PC MAC thingy.
Anyone else done the above set up with a Mac?
_________________________
Our life is what our thoughts make it - Marcus Aurelius

Top
#1193879 - 14/05/2013 18:08 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
ColdFront Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 29/06/2008
Posts: 17908
Loc: Wide Bay..Near the beach
I had a lacrosse. Built down to a price it corroded in a couple of years. POS.

I have had a Davis Vantage Pro for a couple of years now and it has been a good station. I have the data logger and cumulus as well as weatherlink (you can use them in conjunction with one another).

The Davis will require calibration regardless of factory settings so is not reliable out of the box .The calibration isn't hard to do. Simply place a 250 mm nylex alongside and compare notes. Adjust accordingly. Adjustment can be done digitally or at the station. Now is a good time to buy with our strong dollar.

I'll NEVER buy another lacrosse.
_________________________
"Don't steal. The government hates competition."

Top
#1193881 - 14/05/2013 18:21 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
SBT Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 07/02/2007
Posts: 14156
Loc: Townsville Dry Tropics
Cumulus won't work on non windows systems and he isn't going to write one either from reading his support forums.

But click link below for a product that does work with Davis products. Not free but at only $40.00USD it should do the job for you Boomer.

http://www.afterten.com/
_________________________
202mm April 2017
Best 156mm 19/5/17
Oct 143mm
2017 Total 836mm
2016 Total 649mm
2015 Total 375mm
2014 Total 1032mm
2013 Total 715mm







Top
#1193882 - 14/05/2013 18:21 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
T_D_S Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 17/03/2013
Posts: 102
Originally Posted By: boomer
Further to this... what about Mac users? I've been vacillating for years and as for the most part I've been interested in picking big systems (badly) rather than recording, so it has not been a priority.
However, I've also now become interested in the local micro (and that goddam Cairns force field).
I have read many threads discussing the above and have pretty much decided on a Davis (the kudos keep coming) due to both its function and ability to cop a beating (much needed here).
Problem is the PC MAC thingy.
Anyone else done the above set up with a Mac?


I must have completely lost the plot helping out around here again...netherlone a MAC user...ewww! LOL! grin

Cumulus will only run on MAC with a Windows VM. See:
http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=5821

Other alternatives, some aren't free:
http://www.wviewweather.com/
http://www.weathersnoop.com/home/
http://www.afterten.com/products/weathertracker/

Further reading...
http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=17584.0
http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=11008.0

Originally Posted By: ColdFront
I'll NEVER buy another lacrosse.


Amen to THAT!!!
_________________________
Formerly Lightning...Lee

Currently on hiatus while undergoing self appointed therapy for WZ related mental issues...

Top
#1193887 - 14/05/2013 18:32 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
SBT Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 07/02/2007
Posts: 14156
Loc: Townsville Dry Tropics
Hee hee hee, yeah Mac users are a pain when it comes to finding free programs or them.

Must have something to do with how few of them there are. I am a Linux nut (even less users than Mac users) but there is usually something out there that will work with a Linux Distro of some flavour.

As to running a VM on a Mac, well go for it but your just asking for trouble with a capital T for my money.

I would just buy a second hand Vista or XP box/laptop and run it as a standalone with my weather station, add that to one of the freebie websites that allow you to host weather information and you would be sweet.

I agree with Cold Front re La Crosse systems. I am about to junk my second one and I won't be buying another. I will be buying a Davis Vantage Pro next time.
_________________________
202mm April 2017
Best 156mm 19/5/17
Oct 143mm
2017 Total 836mm
2016 Total 649mm
2015 Total 375mm
2014 Total 1032mm
2013 Total 715mm







Top
#1193906 - 14/05/2013 20:02 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
boomer Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 21/11/2010
Posts: 3558
Loc: Cairns
Thanks guys,
Can't help it if the rest of the world has yet to see the light.
Not a bad idea SBT re the stand alone as I am loathe to contaminate purity.
I do have an oldie XP laptop from prior to my baptism/ascension that will do the job.
I will have to scrub and wear double gloves.
Cheers

PS: Thanks heaps for those forum links TDS




Edited by boomer (14/05/2013 20:03)
_________________________
Our life is what our thoughts make it - Marcus Aurelius

Top
#1194109 - 16/05/2013 00:17 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
Steyr Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 12/05/2013
Posts: 3
So can someone tell me if I have this right?

If I'm looking at a Davis solution, the parts I need are:
- Vantage Vue sensor bundle (the Pro2 is out of my price range)
- Vantage Vue console (ugly as it is, I'll mostly be looking at PC software anyway)
- WeatherLinkIP (for the internet upload without the PC on)

Is that it?

Top
#1194159 - 16/05/2013 12:15 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
SBT Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 07/02/2007
Posts: 14156
Loc: Townsville Dry Tropics
Without a PC you will need all of the above from what I have read Steyr.

I really can't see what the issue is with the ugliness of the monitor but each to his own I suppose. It is just an instrument to display information not an iFashiondesigneroverpricedApple device.
_________________________
202mm April 2017
Best 156mm 19/5/17
Oct 143mm
2017 Total 836mm
2016 Total 649mm
2015 Total 375mm
2014 Total 1032mm
2013 Total 715mm







Top
#1194175 - 16/05/2013 13:24 Re: Weather Stations [Re: SBT]
boomer Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 21/11/2010
Posts: 3558
Loc: Cairns
Originally Posted By: SBT
It is just an instrument to display information not an iFashiondesigneroverpricedApple device.

Snorts. Trial one you crusty old Linux (lino?) warrior.
You will find the world really is round and has marble floors.
But yes, I do concede software and that manufacturers have failed to realise the volume of Macs out there... (I'm really surprised re weather station manufacturers), can be a problem.
_________________________
Our life is what our thoughts make it - Marcus Aurelius

Top
#1194188 - 16/05/2013 14:09 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
Orebound Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 17/12/2009
Posts: 2360
Loc: Port Hedland WA / Darwin NT
Ah yes I remember the days before converting to Mac....

wink

Top
#1194243 - 16/05/2013 17:43 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
bbowen Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 30/03/2011
Posts: 115
Although this is definitely not a out of the box unit, you can use these systems, purchase the sensors/meters etc. and then use the graphical interface to set up your own display. These are designed for remote use so come with all sorts of comms attachments etc.

We use them at work, I haven't had too much to do with them, but I have seen them in action.

http://www.datataker.com/productsenvironmental.php

Note this is not an ad, just thought some people would like to see other versions/ideas.

Top
#1195719 - 26/05/2013 18:42 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
boomer Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 21/11/2010
Posts: 3558
Loc: Cairns
BTW... the Davis Pro does have Mac software available (misses out on a few things but good enough).
Problem is it is supplied on disc while the new Macs no longer have a disc drive.
_________________________
Our life is what our thoughts make it - Marcus Aurelius

Top
#1195791 - 27/05/2013 09:12 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
SBT Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 07/02/2007
Posts: 14156
Loc: Townsville Dry Tropics
I have had Macs on and off since the late 1980's Boomer and every time I buy one I get all excited and think it is the ducks guts and again it just doesn't do what I want it to do. Sick and tired of paying 4xtimes more for parts than a Microsloth computer, lack of software choices and sick and tired of being treated like an idiot by Apple etc.

I always have a Linux box floating around so I can dabble with a real operating system and data recovery is a breeze using this but again software is the problem. Finally cost was my biggest hurdle with buying a Mac (and as a computer tech I don't buy into the whole iFashionStatement that they have become) so I will never own another one. However I have been dropping hints at getting an iPad mini for my birthday Boomer. And if you want to add a DVD drive to an iWhatever you can always buy an external DVD Drive and cable adaptors.

http://store.apple.com/au/product/MD564ZM/A/apple-usb-superdrive $89.00
_________________________
202mm April 2017
Best 156mm 19/5/17
Oct 143mm
2017 Total 836mm
2016 Total 649mm
2015 Total 375mm
2014 Total 1032mm
2013 Total 715mm







Top
#1196860 - 01/06/2013 10:29 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
Casper75 Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 30/05/2013
Posts: 20
I've had my weather station for about 2 years but It only has a 50m range which means I can't have it near my PC I'm thinking about upgrading to this one.

http://www.instrumentchoice.com.au/instr...ion-usb-pc-data

Top
#1199077 - 14/06/2013 19:44 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Casper75]
PVW Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 28/12/2010
Posts: 2373
Loc: Thuringowa, Townsville QLD
Originally Posted By: Casper75
I've had my weather station for about 2 years but It only has a 50m range which means I can't have it near my PC I'm thinking about upgrading to this one.

http://www.instrumentchoice.com.au/instr...ion-usb-pc-data

I had this station for about a year back in 2009/10. Terrible station for the price.
I had a significant degree of difficulty displaying the temperature accurately during the day. Temps displayed were usually anything from 5 to 10 degrees too high, even when placed in a relatively shady area.

I also happened to have this station up and running through 2 major wind events and received unusable data. It was out during Cyclone Ului (which had winds gusting to 140km/h in my location) and the station said the maximum wind was 39km/h (this was on a cabled connection too).

When on wireless the wind is only sampled once every 2 to 2.5 minutes. Meaning that 95% of strong gusts go unnoticed by this station. When running it on wireless we would have strong wind warnings and 60km/hr gusts at all stations nearby and this station would report a maximum of 15km/hr if you were lucky.
When on cabled connection the wind is sampled every 8 seconds, not enough to get every gust.

Overall, temperature and humidity are fairly accurate at night time when there is no sunlight around. Pressure needs manual calibration every few months. Wind data is useless.

Top
#1199082 - 14/06/2013 20:20 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
bbowen Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 30/03/2011
Posts: 115
Also try vaisala, there are loads of different equipment/setups to be found there.

Top
#1200252 - 22/06/2013 08:52 Re: Weather Stations [Re: Steyr]
Graham M Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 21/01/2002
Posts: 385
Loc: Boambee East near Coffs Harbou...
I've been using Peet Bros Ultimeter weather stations for almost twenty years. They're wired, which means more of a hassle to begin with but probably greater reliability in the long run. And you can put sensors where you want them. I have a Stevenson screen, my anemometer/vane is on a mast on the roof, and my rain gauge is somewhere else entirely.

Information here.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Who's Online
8 registered (Stale fish, Kino, Mathew, Hailin, mysteriousbrad, Homer, 2 invisible), 256 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Today's Birthdays
haras, TheAnt
Forum Stats
29401 Members
32 Forums
23726 Topics
1468972 Posts

Max Online: 2925 @ 02/02/2011 22:23
Satellite Image