Page 55 of 105 < 1 2 ... 53 54 55 56 57 ... 104 105 >
Topic Options
#1433837 - 13/09/2017 09:45 Re: Climate Driver Discussion 2017 (Enso, IOD, PDO ,SAM etc) [Re: ColdFront]
Colin Maitland Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Loc: North Brisbane ( Bracken Ridge...
I was reading a few pages back RE: Solar flares, and as a Ham operator I was chatting with my mate and there were some big interference with the big CME cat X9.3 storm. Interesting there was talk in the media that is why NK did not set of its ICBM, whether that is the case I can't really comment but there was the huge 8.2 EQ in Mexico. Not sure if related as well.

But while the sun is supposed to be quiet it has been throwing some big flares up. The following article may be interesting to some.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/technology...313941d0f074aef

Solar flares: Our sleeping Sun has erupted with seven flares in seven days
Jamie Seidel, News Corp Australia Network
an hour ago

OUR Sun has sent forth seven flares in seven days. One is headed our way.

One, unleashed last week, was the solar equivalent of Hurricane Irma — a monster X9.3 storm. Even though it only struck Earth a glancing blow, this was enough to disrupt some radio communications.

Since then, the same cauldron of magnetic activity on the Sun’s surface has erupted with flare after flare.

Another big one, at magnitude X8.2, was blasted outwards overnight. It’s arriving soon.

SPACE WEATHER WARNING

What makes these flares so significant is that the explosions have been strong enough to tear pieces of the Sun away from itself, and fling it into space. It’s called a coronal mass ejection (CME), and — depending on its strength — if one was to hit Earth the effects could range from an annoyance to catastrophic.

The latest warning from the Space Weather Prediction Center is that the latest flare could cause a moderate disruption radio communications over North and South America for up to an hour tonight.