NOTICE!

The Weatherzone forum has now closed and is in read-only mode until the 1st of November when it will close permanently. We would like to thank everyone who has contributed over the past 18 years.

If you would like to continue the discussion you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter or participate in discussions at AusWeather or Ski.com.au forums.

Topic Options
#262391 - 06/01/2003 22:18 Weatherzone problem
Laurier Williams Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 01/02/2001
Posts: 2192
Loc: Millthorpe, 970m, Central W NS...
An interesting minor glitch on WZ. The metar obs for Darwin rainfall graph has gone off the top of the scale. I know it's wet up there, but it's not THAT wet!
:wave:
_________________________
Caution: Any items linked to in this post may change and become irrelevant or expire over time. Use good meteorological practice and ALWAYS check date and time on charts before using them.

Top
#262392 - 06/01/2003 22:28 Re: Weatherzone problem
Andrew Miskelly Offline
Weatherzone Webmaster

Registered: 15/11/2001
Posts: 3149
Loc: Mittagong, NSW
laugh

You had me worried there for a minute because I like to think that that particular bit of software is rock-solid and I've never seen anything to suggest the contrary! cool

Andrew.

Top
#262393 - 07/01/2003 00:52 Re: Weatherzone problem
Laurier Williams Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 01/02/2001
Posts: 2192
Loc: Millthorpe, 970m, Central W NS...
Hehe. I presume the scale ramps up in 5mm increments as the accumulation in either the pre 9am or post 9am total exceeds each boundary. This was a real one-off situation: Darwin's rain got to 10.0mm at 21.00 yesterday and stayed there until cleared at 9am today. There has been no rain since, therefore the rain shading completely fills the left ~half of the graph, while the right ~half is clear, so it doesn't look like a graph at all.

I don't know how easy it is to fiddle with the program, but if the scale jumped another 5mm when the rf accumulation reached 0.4 or so below the boundary, then there would always be clear space above the rf shading.

Then again, as this is likely to happen only once in many years, I probably wouldn't bother. laugh
_________________________
Caution: Any items linked to in this post may change and become irrelevant or expire over time. Use good meteorological practice and ALWAYS check date and time on charts before using them.

Top
#262394 - 07/01/2003 01:57 Re: Weatherzone problem
Fine Elsewhere Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 02/09/2002
Posts: 1877
Loc: Albany.W.A.
All too technical for me LW, but i notice that the lights on threads active since last visitd have just gone off!!!! wink FE PS then light on GW wnet on straight after my post, but others remain out - little gremlins about?

Top
#262395 - 07/01/2003 11:05 Re: Weatherzone problem
Andrew Miskelly Offline
Weatherzone Webmaster

Registered: 15/11/2001
Posts: 3149
Loc: Mittagong, NSW
Quote:
Originally posted by Laurier Williams:
...if the scale jumped another 5mm when the rf accumulation reached 0.4 or so below the boundary, then there would always be clear space above the rf shading...
Yeah, easy improvement to make but as you say a reasonably unexciting one. We'll see how it goes... smile

Top


Who's Online
0 registered (), 40 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Today's Birthdays
bradmac, Eager2beastormchaser, Go The Cows, Roland
Forum Stats
29947 Members
32 Forums
24194 Topics
1529247 Posts

Max Online: 2985 @ 26/01/2019 12:05
Satellite Image