Topic Options
#897075 - 10/11/2010 21:20 Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station
Ree Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 24/01/2010
Posts: 873
Loc: Balnagowan, 20km nth Mackay
Hi, I was looking at getting a Vantage Vue weather station from the US. But I have read that a radio frequency alteration has to be done to make it usable in Australia. Can anyone tell me more about this?
I have my heart set on this weather station but not at the Aussie price (US$278.95, AU$680).
Sheree

Top
#897078 - 10/11/2010 21:26 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Ree]
Turtle Girl Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 21/04/2007
Posts: 319
Loc: Melbourne CBD

Top
#897084 - 10/11/2010 21:43 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Turtle Girl]
Paul Graham Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 11/12/2009
Posts: 10
Loc: Sydney
Hi Sheree,

I brought a vantage pro2 from an Australian site that ended up being a imported from the US (without my knowledge). It has the US frequencies and works fine BUT long story short, I thought I had an issue with it that need a warranty repair and in investigating this, I found put that it wasn't covered by any form of warranty as it had been illegally imported. Lucky the error was mine and it didn't need warranty work. But the money I saved buying this cheap version will need to be spent (and them some) converting it to Australian frequencies before I can expand or if it needs to be repaired.

It's true what they say, if it's too good to be true, it probably is. Make sure you buy from a reputable, Australian supplier! :-)

Good luck and enjoy, Paul.
(Who is very happy with his Davis Pro2, despite being stung by a dodgy conman!)

Top
#897089 - 10/11/2010 22:01 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Paul Graham]
Ree Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 24/01/2010
Posts: 873
Loc: Balnagowan, 20km nth Mackay
Thanks Paul. I just can't see why it costs $400 more for the same product in Australia. I found on a forum that "the radio frequency thing is a firmware issue and a C-tick sticker that costs next to nothing fixes the problem". I have a budget (set by the other half) and can afford a US$ priced vantage pro or an AU$ la crosse. I really, really want the Davis!

Top
#897094 - 10/11/2010 22:13 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Ree]
Paul Graham Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 11/12/2009
Posts: 10
Loc: Sydney
No worries Sheree. Where did you read the about the firmware C-tick thing? Hold out for the Davis though!. I know to get mine fixed, I need to send them the console (receiver) and external transmitter. I got the feeling that it was a bit more than just a firmware issue.

Good luck!

Top
#897100 - 10/11/2010 22:29 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Paul Graham]
Ree Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 24/01/2010
Posts: 873
Loc: Balnagowan, 20km nth Mackay
Your probally right Paul. That's why I have been trying to find out as much as I can before buying one. This is the link where I found out about the firmware c-tick thing, comment #4 and at the start of the review state that it requires "last minute radio frequency alteration", they make it sound simple!
http://www.digitalreviews.net/reviews/miscellaneous/vantage-vue-weather-station-review.html

Top
#897329 - 11/11/2010 19:25 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Ree]
Ree Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 24/01/2010
Posts: 873
Loc: Balnagowan, 20km nth Mackay
Has any1 bought a Vantage Vue from USA (I was looking at Scientific Sales)? If yes, does it work?

Top
#954902 - 03/02/2011 12:53 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Ree]
crookie Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 11/01/2011
Posts: 8
Loc: Crows Nest Qld
Ree can you email Scientific Sales and ask if they are able to adjust it (or whatever is required) for use in Aus before sending it to you?

Top
#967258 - 01/03/2011 05:38 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: crookie]
mojo73 Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 27/02/2011
Posts: 13
Loc: Near Yatala, SE QLD
US and EU versions of Vantage Vue and Pro2 use frequencies inside the mobile phone bands here in Australia. I looked into this myself recently before buying a Vantage Pro2 locally.
To my mind, you would be far better off buying from AU.
1: your station may not get reliable signals from your sensors due to interference from phones and cell phone towers.
2: If your sensors cause eough disruption to phone users in your area and a tech investigates poor cell performance/interference and finds your illegal station you could well (potentially) lose far more than what you 'saved' by buying an illegal import.

Hope this helps?

Top
#992762 - 31/05/2011 21:41 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: mojo73]
Oldfella Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 01/05/2007
Posts: 12
Loc: Keilor, Victoria
Hi all,

Sorry to bump this old thread.

I've wanted a Pro2 for a while but can't understand why the huge difference in price between importing from US and buying local (eg for the 6153 model it is around $600 diff). confused

So much so that I've been tempted to just take the risk and buy from the US.

Be that as it may, to overcome the frequency problem, it is possible to run a hard wire from the ISS to the console isn't it? For me it would be relatively easy to do.

Opinions?

Thanks,
Oldfella

Top
#1409575 - 26/02/2017 04:15 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Ree]
Weather Shop Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 28/06/2016
Posts: 2
I bought "Davis Vantage Vue 6250 - Fully Integrated WiFi Weather Station" only at 399$ from Weather Stationary online weather shop.

Top
#1409579 - 26/02/2017 08:32 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Ree]
ozone doug Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/11/2006
Posts: 1645
Loc: Roma SW QLD Eye to the West...
You didn't buy one ,Your flogging one.
_________________________
Cheers Doug. 491 Doug/ uhf ch50 and ch40 When severe weather
BOM Stormspotter G0388 Roma S W Queensland Formerly Redcliffe.
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=IQUEENSL852

Top
#1409834 - 27/02/2017 19:16 Re: Davis Vantage Vue Weather Station [Re: Ree]
Nerd65 Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 30/01/2011
Posts: 407
Loc: Cranbrook, Townsville
For some reason everytime I see a Davis Vantage Vue it reminds me of an outboard motor.
_________________________
Linux is Star Trek; Windows is Star Wars.

Top


Who's Online
7 registered (gberg, Hurricane force, Max744, Simmo FNQ, kathrynsview, 2 invisible), 271 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Today's Birthdays
alby, controler, NCSC - Antonio, puca
Forum Stats
29389 Members
32 Forums
23699 Topics
1465684 Posts

Max Online: 2925 @ 02/02/2011 22:23
Satellite Image