NOTICE!

The Weatherzone forum has now closed and is in read-only mode until the 1st of November when it will close permanently. We would like to thank everyone who has contributed over the past 18 years.

If you would like to continue the discussion you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter or participate in discussions at AusWeather or Ski.com.au forums.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#936403 - 25/01/2011 21:11 New Look Radar Overlay
Grinch Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/01/2004
Posts: 1165
Loc: ACT
Don't know about anyone else but Im not a fan of those silly little dashed boxes round the cities that you click on to go to the nearest radar when you mouse over the radar image.
Are people so useless at navigating the interface they need this to be dumbed down to that level.
The white square that appears on mouse over and the cursor changing to a hand is enough indication of a link to a radar, that and the fact there is a list above the radar image.

cheers

Top
#936513 - 25/01/2011 22:23 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
core puncher Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 04/10/2008
Posts: 1051
Loc: Old bar NSW east of taree
yeah its a bit overbearing, Only thing ive found it usefull is giving a broad overlay as to where the radars cover and where they dont. But the other new functions ie dist from radar-homing location are better located.
_________________________
Feel free to add me to facebook,
https://www.facebook.com/leskembrey

Top
#937217 - 26/01/2011 14:19 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: core puncher]
Grinch Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/01/2004
Posts: 1165
Loc: ACT
I just loaded up the sat pic and can only drill into the state level now, clicking on the sat pic before would zoom in on the zone as it would if I loaded up the Canberra radar.
I can see the point of having an overlay that showed average coverage, a round overlay would be more appropriate, if that is the intended purpose, however the way it is configured the purpose is defeated.
cheers

Top
#937705 - 26/01/2011 21:47 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
Grinch Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/01/2004
Posts: 1165
Loc: ACT
Another bug, in the radar this time, instead of looping it sweeps the images forwards and backwards.

Top
#937767 - 26/01/2011 22:37 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
TC Poncho Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 07/01/2010
Posts: 2199
Loc: Point Cartwright, Sunny Coast,...
is there anyway someone can please provide a long lat overlay for the sat images... or all the charts that dont have them for that matter.
_________________________
To purchase fine photographic art please visit my website http://peterperreauxphoto.silhouetteapp.com

Top
#938543 - 27/01/2011 18:23 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: TC Poncho]
Grinch Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/01/2004
Posts: 1165
Loc: ACT
TC this topic is not about adding anything it is to feedback to WZ the issues with the new radar functionality.
Maybe I should have named the topic "Bug Reports" or something a bit more useful sorry for consfusing you.
Mods please move this request to a more relevant topic.
cheers

Top
#938675 - 27/01/2011 20:12 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
TC Poncho Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 07/01/2010
Posts: 2199
Loc: Point Cartwright, Sunny Coast,...
sorry mate. Please move.
_________________________
To purchase fine photographic art please visit my website http://peterperreauxphoto.silhouetteapp.com

Top
#938686 - 27/01/2011 20:25 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: TC Poncho]
Grinch Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/01/2004
Posts: 1165
Loc: ACT
At the expense of looking like a complete noob, I have found the issue with the radar being in sweep mode is a problem with the interface between the chair and the coomputer. There is no longer an issue laugh
Sorry WZ.

Top
#938701 - 27/01/2011 20:34 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
adam17 Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 13/01/2002
Posts: 3268
Loc: Townsville - Queensland
Quote:
I just loaded up the sat pic and can only drill into the state level now


I found this somewhat annoying also, I use the zoomed sat pic regularity, now I have to use a magnifying glass and it's pixelated big time. I hope it's just an oversight and not permanent.

Top
#939696 - 28/01/2011 15:26 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: adam17]
Andrew Miskelly Offline
Weatherzone Webmaster

Registered: 15/11/2001
Posts: 3149
Loc: Mittagong, NSW
Hi all,

We might review how the navigation between different map levels works soon. Might also look at adding a switch to turn the navigation layer on and off and replace it with the position readout when it's off.

In the meantime, satellite images for radar maps can be obtained by navigating to the radar and clicking 'satellite' in the related links box. The pages themselves haven't gone anywhere.

Andrew

Top
#940330 - 28/01/2011 23:07 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Andrew Miskelly]
Grinch Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/01/2004
Posts: 1165
Loc: ACT
Thanks Andrew.
cheers

Top
#949771 - 01/02/2011 20:13 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
fractonimbus Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 07/11/2001
Posts: 96
Loc: Canberra
Latest bug, introduced this evening, it seems: in Safari 5 on a Mac, each animated map shows a small blue box with a "?" in it. Not the case in Firefox. A Javascript error, or incompatibility, it seems. Reported via contact form.

fracto

Top
#949789 - 01/02/2011 20:20 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: fractonimbus]
fractonimbus Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 07/11/2001
Posts: 96
Loc: Canberra
Problem identified: the lightning overlay image is missing (at the moment). Safari tells you this with the "?", Firefox hides the error.

fracto

Top
#951584 - 02/02/2011 06:54 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: fractonimbus]
BOM99 Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 23/08/2004
Posts: 4645
Loc: Australia
Where is the lightning??, I use plain old windows explorer as most people and there is no sign of it?
I wanted to see how much lightning there is in YASI now I know NOTHING!!!.

Top
#953435 - 02/02/2011 17:27 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
Freddy Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 20/11/2009
Posts: 1
Where oh Where has the lightning gone?? And I agree that the little dashed white boxes are a waste of time.

I need lightning!

Top
#953595 - 02/02/2011 18:13 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Freddy]
adsman Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 24/10/2005
Posts: 259
Loc: Canberra, Australia
Looks like lightning is now only available to paid members. WZ, this SUCKS! Fair enough only allow lightning state wide but not local radars on the free version but to take it away completely is a bit tight..

Top
#954099 - 02/02/2011 20:36 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: adsman]
!SCHUMMY! Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 22/04/2008
Posts: 2915
Loc: Jimboomba, SEQ
I am a WZ silver member and don't have any lightning at all. I know they are trying to fix this so don't start bashing them!!

Top
#954477 - 02/02/2011 22:12 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: !SCHUMMY!]
fractonimbus Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 07/11/2001
Posts: 96
Loc: Canberra
Another irritation: there is a 45 minute lag for close-up rain radar images compared to state or national images. This is very distressing. I'm sure it didn't happen before the changes. Hope it's only a temporary glitch.

fracto

Top
#956027 - 04/02/2011 20:14 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: fractonimbus]
Thunderstruck Offline
Lightning man

Registered: 10/05/2001
Posts: 15024
Loc: Seaford Meadows, SA
The lightning overlay is working but it is not accurate on the respective cells, seems a long way off to the west for me?

TS cool

Top
#956097 - 04/02/2011 21:32 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Thunderstruck]
!SCHUMMY! Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 22/04/2008
Posts: 2915
Loc: Jimboomba, SEQ
With those white dotted boxes to show the radars around the country, there is a bit of a fault there....the boxes appear when my mouse os on the map but they dont disappear once i move my mouse off the map. it is a bit annoying when looking at national/state radar with the white boxes there.

It would also be good to be able to click on each state on the actual map instead of clicking the name on top of that radar.

hope this feedback is ok smile

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Who's Online
0 registered (), 43 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Forum Stats
29947 Members
32 Forums
24194 Topics
1529243 Posts

Max Online: 2985 @ 26/01/2019 12:05
Satellite Image