NOTICE!

The Weatherzone forum has now closed and is in read-only mode until the 1st of November when it will close permanently. We would like to thank everyone who has contributed over the past 18 years.

If you would like to continue the discussion you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter or participate in discussions at AusWeather or Ski.com.au forums.

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#956136 - 04/02/2011 22:22 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: !SCHUMMY!]
dlcat1 Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 31/01/2011
Posts: 901
Loc: Melbourne (NE burbs)
I've got national lightning, up to date firefox. Can't comment on the relative position at this scale.

Top
#957965 - 07/02/2011 11:21 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: dlcat1]
Michael Bath Offline
Weatherzone Moderator

Registered: 20/06/2001
Posts: 2447
Loc: McLeans Ridges, Northern River...
The new radar display doesn't work on my HTC snap phone. Guess I'll have to get a new phone now...

Bit of a pain as the BoM loops never worked, yet the old Weatherzone radar loops with lightning tracker did, until this change.

MB

Top
#958002 - 07/02/2011 12:48 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Michael Bath]
teckert Offline
Weatherzone Moderator

Registered: 27/05/2001
Posts: 17705
Loc: NE suburbs, Adelaide, South Au...
no probs here now on my HTC.... although had to reload it and save it as a new bookmark.... perhaps try that Michael.

Top
#958034 - 07/02/2011 14:58 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: teckert]
Andy Double U Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 28/10/2006
Posts: 1829
Loc: Mundoolun, SE QLD, 129m ASL
MB, is your issue with the loop dimming / blacking out? I just tried mine and it isn't happy either. I'm using a HTC HD2 with Opera for browsing.

Top
#958047 - 07/02/2011 15:45 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Andy Double U]
Andy Double U Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 28/10/2006
Posts: 1829
Loc: Mundoolun, SE QLD, 129m ASL
Darn Edit time!

I just downloaded Opera 10 and it seems to have no problems displaying the radar/lightning tracker, but it doesn't allow 'pinch zooming' from what I can tell...

Top
#958062 - 07/02/2011 16:23 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Andy Double U]
Michael Bath Offline
Weatherzone Moderator

Registered: 20/06/2001
Posts: 2447
Loc: McLeans Ridges, Northern River...
The AU and state based maps work, but not the individual radars - might be related to the pop-up lat/long/distance indicator. All the checkboxes under the radar default to off and ticking them back on makes no difference so end up with just a black display.

Top
#958067 - 07/02/2011 16:51 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Michael Bath]
seaspark Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 21/01/2010
Posts: 28
Loc: redlynch grove
Both radar and sat haven't displayed Aus correctly since the upgrade on my apple running safari v5.0.3. Have to navigate to Qld to view the east coast now and also go to Bom for most current local radar as this now seems to lag behind on WZ. The little white boxes seem located correctly but the animation is way off to the right of them and missing the east coast due to being off screen.

Top
#958147 - 07/02/2011 20:38 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Grinch]
Noddy Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 04/02/2011
Posts: 8
I joined weather watch to see how I could fix my radar and get rid of all the boxes around the radar sites. Apparently it's not a fault with my computer, it's been done on purpose. What are the benefits. and just for the record I do not like the new look. Is there any way to get the old look back.

Top
#958152 - 07/02/2011 20:56 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Noddy]
KevD Offline
Occasional Visitor

Registered: 23/09/2001
Posts: 5236
Loc: Bellingen NSW 2454
Yep, I am with the majority here - please change it back! Looks and feels so clunky now - do not like it at all frown

Top
#958706 - 09/02/2011 12:34 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: KevD]
Andrew Miskelly Offline
Weatherzone Webmaster

Registered: 15/11/2001
Posts: 3149
Loc: Mittagong, NSW
I've made the clickable boxes a layer that defaults off and may be turned on if desired.

Michael, is it possible on the HTC to see whether any script errors are occurring and what they are?

Top
#958730 - 09/02/2011 14:08 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Andrew Miskelly]
Andy Double U Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 28/10/2006
Posts: 1829
Loc: Mundoolun, SE QLD, 129m ASL
Just wondering if you guys had changed anything Andrew as I loaded up the radar/lightning tracker screen again and didn't have the dimming/blacking issues that I had before? The only other thing that I'd done since last checking the page was shutting down and restarting my phone, so it may have purged the cache on it...

Top
#958749 - 09/02/2011 15:12 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Andy Double U]
seaspark Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 21/01/2010
Posts: 28
Loc: redlynch grove
Thanks Andrew/weatherzone for fixing some of the issues listed in this forum. I now have the full image of Aus back on the radar again and no white boxes. Rule of thumb is if it aint stuffed dont touch it. Was happy with what you had to offer before the upgrade. smile

Top
#958978 - 10/02/2011 08:46 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: seaspark]
ROM Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 29/01/2007
Posts: 6628
Those darn annoying radar boxes are at long last gone again! Thank goodness.

Top
#959258 - 10/02/2011 22:01 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: ROM]
Noddy Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 04/02/2011
Posts: 8
Thanks guys I am happy with my old radar back again

Top
#959525 - 11/02/2011 15:02 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Noddy]
DaveM Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 21/05/2001
Posts: 10186
Loc: Bathurst NSW about 700 m asl
Yep happy with the reverting back away from the boxes - cheers. Nothing ventured nothing gained eh what. smile

Top
#959606 - 11/02/2011 17:58 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: DaveM]
Michael Bath Offline
Weatherzone Moderator

Registered: 20/06/2001
Posts: 2447
Loc: McLeans Ridges, Northern River...
Hi Andrew - no it didn't show any errors, though it now works again since you made the change, so all good smile Thanks

Top
#963629 - 20/02/2011 21:05 Re: New Look Radar Overlay [Re: Michael Bath]
janama Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 30/07/2010
Posts: 7
I don't mind the new look but why is the radar an hour behind:?? It's 21.03 here and the radar is at 20.00

never used to be - it was always 10min behind.

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2


Who's Online
0 registered (), 45 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Forum Stats
29947 Members
32 Forums
24194 Topics
1529243 Posts

Max Online: 2985 @ 26/01/2019 12:05
Satellite Image