Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#998733 - 03/07/2011 11:12 My New Weather Station (Davis VP2)
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
Hi Everyone

Been awhile since I've been on the forums been real busy with my new apprenticeship.
But I've been wanting to do this for awhile now and I finally bought myself a weather station
a Davis Vantage Pro 2 Cabled (6152C).
I have got it up and running and I made a few modifications such as I separated the rain bucket from the temperature sensor (ISS)
so that I could achieve more accurate readings I changed all the cable to Cat 5e for better protection and I have ran the cable out 150m
from the console so that I could place it in the best location.
I also bought a Daytime Aspirated Fan for it which I modified so that it runs for 24hrs. I did this by not using the solar panels provided and
instead setting it up to be completely battery powered (2 10000mah D Cells Rechargable) Providing it with enough mAh to run for 48hrs and Constant power of 2.4V and I change
them over every 24hrs so that they can maintain the constant power.

Placement of Sensors:
Anemometer: 8-10m above ground level (Went as high as I could go Highest point for at least 500m)
Temperature: 1.25m above ground level
Rain: 40cm above ground level.

The sensors are placed in the best position I could do so that the data is accurate.

So I finally got it up and running and recording data into weatherlink and I have uploaded the data to weather underground as they are free and provide an accurate forecast.
I thought I share it on the forums as it could help people storm chasing, forecasting or just tell people about what weather to expect and so far the forecasts have been really accurate down to the mm of rain.

So heres the website for the station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT80
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT80


Here are some pictures of the weather station.





















Thanks Clayton
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#998750 - 03/07/2011 11:47 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
MC Thomas Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 06/12/2004
Posts: 1119
Loc: Melbourne
Awesome work, well done! I would love a weatherstation of my own but I move around way too much. I might try to set up an AWS at work though, I feel inspired.

Top
#998754 - 03/07/2011 12:22 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
Surly Bond Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 23/08/2003
Posts: 2189
Loc: Manilla, near Tamworth NSW
Congratulations, Clayton!
Is the wind observation tower your own design? How is it made and erected?

I am only 350 km away, but the tablelands are between us. I read only daily max, min and Dew Point, but I observe morning cloud and wind. In the "Observations of climate variation" thread you will see I think cloud has changed a lot recently. Morning wind here is very often an ENE katabatic, but only 2 or 3 knots. Do you get a katabatic?
_________________________
Data are cheap; information is expensive!

Top
#998758 - 03/07/2011 12:40 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Surly Bond]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
Thanks
Yes I designed the wind observation tower, its 2m of 100mm pvc pipe dug around 4ft down and surrounded and filled to the top with concrete and has reo inserted inside it and dug in to give extra stability, then with a 1m of 50mm pvc pipe attached to the top with glue and screws to mount the anemometer to. The 3 100mm PVC Pipe braces are also dug down about 1-2ft and surrounded with concrete and filled about halfway and glued and screwed to the side of the main pole. Then it is all leveled up and the anemometer is facing true north. Probably went a bit too far but it stands around 3-4m and is atop a 5m hill in our paddock which gets it close to the WMO standard of 10m plus I didn't want any movement.

Yeah I can see that cloud has changed abit here too, and yes I do record morning katabatic winds going in a ENE direction and just last night they were recorded at 2am-3am, 4.30am and 6am this morning with the winds being around 2-3 knots.

You can see them on the wind direction graphs on my weather underground page
http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT80
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#1000190 - 09/07/2011 18:40 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
Oldfella Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 01/05/2007
Posts: 12
Loc: Keilor, Victoria
Hello Clayton.
I want to update my Honeywell TE923W with a Davis station. The rain gauge is no longer working (plus the sample rates can't compete with the Davis).

I was wondering where you got your VP2 - local or imported?

I'm also considering the cabled version of the 6152 plus a daytime shield. I'd love the wireless 6153 but it is too costly to purchase in Australia and the imported version shouldn't be used here due to frequency differences. Hard wiring shouldn't prove too difficult for me.
Oldfella

Top
#1000257 - 10/07/2011 09:55 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Oldfella]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
Hey

Well the Davis has been awesome so far no hiccups at all love it.

I got mine from the US and all together (Station, Fan, Software) cost me $770US including postage.
Also I'll give you the links and make sure you offer him a lower price as he I knocked about $50-100 off.

New Davis Cabled Weather Station 6152C Vantage Pro2 - http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260365811457&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
(I offered $420US and he accepted so you may be able to go lower just make sure you put in all 3 offers at once.)

Davis Daytime Fan Aspirated Kit 7747 for Vantage Pro2 - http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250578723867&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
(I offered $100US and he accepted)

Davis WeatherLink Software 6510SER Windows Serial Port - http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260426089134&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT
(I offered $130US and he accepted)
OR

Davis WeatherLink Software 6510USB Windows USB - http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DAVIS-WEATHER...=item3a56651e69

So if you want you can go for lower offers but that what he accepted for me and ask him about combining postage
as I got it all posted for $120US

Everything came in about a week and all in perfect condition so highly recommended seller.
Also just message me if you want any tips on how to make the daytime fan go for 24hrs.

Hope that helps

Clayton
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#1000533 - 11/07/2011 21:58 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
Oldfella Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 01/05/2007
Posts: 12
Loc: Keilor, Victoria

Great, thanks Clayton, I'll definitely look them up.

I was hoping but didn't really expect you to respond (often the way in Forums when questions are asked by newbies or non-regulars), so really appreciate that.

The ebay addresses look a bit complex but I guess I'll cut and paste them to see if that works.

Excuse my ignorance, but when you note "message me" do you mean via the Forum or via email (I haven't listed a Public Email in my Profile). I think I will be interested in tips on how to make the daytime fan go for 24hrs in due course.

Thanks again,
Oldfella

Top
#1000628 - 12/07/2011 17:12 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Oldfella]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
Hey

Thats ok and I'm glad to help out as I'd want someone to do the same for me.

The ebay addresses do look abit complex but they are straight copy and paste.

Sorry for not making it clear just message me on the forums and I check them pretty regularly and will respond pretty quickly.
As I would be more then happy to help and share what I did you make the 12 go for 24 but it does mean you will have to visit your station every 24-48hrs to change the rechargeable batteries but anyways I'll tell you more if you want just send us a message and I'll help you out.

Clayton
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#1000662 - 12/07/2011 20:31 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
SBT Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 07/02/2007
Posts: 14286
Loc: Townsville Dry Tropics
Oldfella - to send a message click on the persons name and then click on PM (Private Message) This will send a message to him via the forum and if you have it enabled vi an email. I have sent you a message via this sytem and you should see a flashing envelope next to My Stuff. Click on teh envelope and it should open a page like the forum thread and in there will be the message.


The best way to put web addresses into a post is to click on Switch to full reply screen
The click on the Internet Link on the top toolbar. Delete the http:// in the input box and then paste the address into it like below. Next type in a name for the link and it will appear in the thread as an blue underlined link by the name alone.

Davis pro stuff from ebay

This forum is chock full of people who want to help people so don't be put off by what you (and I) have found on other forums.


Edited by Sir BoabTree (12/07/2011 20:33)
_________________________
785mm Jan
799mm Feb
130 March
2019 Total 1714mm
2018 Total 822mm






Top
#1000822 - 13/07/2011 19:42 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: SBT]
core puncher Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 04/10/2008
Posts: 1051
Loc: Old bar NSW east of taree
Gday Clay, Love ya set up buddy.. Good to see people put a little effort into setting there home stations up other then the shove it on a fence post approach :o) So you even went to the trouble to cement fill and reo the pvc post? sheesh a cat 5 cyclone will not budge it at all, you would sort of hope the place your at is going to be home for some time to come..

It would suck though having to replace the batteries ever 24-48hrs especially with a short term memory like my own.. Im allergic to electricity..well to be honest scared pooless of it unless of course its in the form of a big fat CG, but would there be a way of using persay a ATV 12v battery (with a spare charged for when it runs low) or even a solar power setup? surely a solar set up that trickle charges your rechargeable's would save you some troubles especially if you for example was out of town for a few days?
_________________________
Feel free to add me to facebook,
https://www.facebook.com/leskembrey

Top
#1000840 - 13/07/2011 21:19 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: core puncher]
Oldfella Offline
Cloud Gazer

Registered: 01/05/2007
Posts: 12
Loc: Keilor, Victoria

Hi again Clayton.
I've checked the ebay shop via your links and they worked a treat. I'd better get a wriggle on whilst the exchange rate is still so favourable to buy in US.

I don't think I'll be pursuing the 24hrs a day conversion though. I'll be mounting mine off the roof of the house (I'm in outer suburb Melbourne) so it won't be practical for me to change over the batteries every 48 hrs. Unfortunately off the roof is the only location I can use to get clear air (trees, other houses etc).

Thanks again for your advice.
Oldfella.

Top
#1000841 - 13/07/2011 21:29 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Oldfella]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
core puncher - Thanks, yeah well its my parents place and they won't be moving soon if ever so thats sort of why I went through the extra effort. But yeah its real strong hoping for an awesome storm season to test it out smile. It does get to be a bit of a pain changing them but they will last upto and maybe a bit longer then 48hrs so I'm away it will still go for a bit and I still kept the solar panel so I can always hook that up later if I ever went away on holidays or whatever. But I went for that idea cos it only cost me around $50 to do it and it works and gives constant power which was a main thing as I didn't want the fan speed increasing and decreasing throughout the day and night which could decrease the accuracy of the station also with this way it is completely reliable through any weather condition (Sunny/ Overcast) and the fan will always run as long as I keep the batteries charged. But thanks and lets hope now I finally got a weather station that we have the best storm season to test it out.

Oldfella - Hi, yeah its great with the exchange rate being in our favor, he is a fantastic seller and will answer any and all questions you ask.
But I understand why you wouldn't as mine is at ground level and I designed it with the battery idea in mind so I could change them with ease. Hope you can
get your hands on one soon and that we can have some awesome weather to record this year with our new weather stations.

Thanks
Clayton


Edited by Clayton (13/07/2011 21:34)
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#1002777 - 26/07/2011 10:14 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
kgb007 Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 09/12/2010
Posts: 1515
Loc: Hope Valley, SA
Hi Clayton

Awesome job you have done there mate! Was very interested and impressed with your setup. Have been a keen weather observer & recorder for more than 20 years now. Started out with a mercury Max/Min thermometer, bought my first weather station in 1994, a Davis Weather Wizard III, still going strong. A few years back I also bought a Oregon Scientific WMR100N, not happy with it! So currently operating two stations, have had to replace the the temp sensor and wind anemometer cable on the Davis station a few years back! I find the Oregon rain gauge is highly inaccurate as I use a backup rain gauge which always gives me a higher reading. Anyways I was inspired by your story, and have bought the same station as yourself from the same fella! I am going to sell my old Davis Weather Wizard and the Oregon unit and replace it with Davis Vantage Pro 2. I managed to get mine for $400US, $46US off, so not bad! Hope those storms eventuate for you come spring!

Regards

Kym Burton

Top
#1002817 - 26/07/2011 15:50 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: kgb007]
Popeye Offline
Meteorological Motor Mouth

Registered: 30/12/2006
Posts: 7918
Loc: Cable Beach - Broome WA
Just a question regarding the davis weather stations bought from the USA. Do they run on some other frequency that interferes with australian mobile phones. I remember hearing a few conversations regarding this and I have always been hesitant to buy one from the US because of this. Any help in answering this would be appreciated.

Love the set up you have there Clayton. Need one like it to withstand the big cyclones over here in the NWest. Not hoping for a direct hit from one of those beasts but you got to be prepared with a nice weather station if it happens.
_________________________
Popeye's 2015/16 Broome Wet Season Images

Top
#1002837 - 26/07/2011 18:38 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Popeye]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
kgb007 - Hi Kym thanks, I love weather too and have done since I was young, but I was thinking about going the cheaper options too as I wanted a weather station so bad but I held out to save some money and I'm so glad I did cause I love my Davis Vantage Pro 2, but hope you can get a Davis Vantage Pro 2 soon as they are well worth the money, and thanks again I so hope some awesome storms come through to test it.

Popeye - Hey sorry but I'm unsure on the frequencies but I've heard the same thing so I went with the cabled which is fine as the ISS on mine is around 150m from the console and dug in a trench with conduit and I replaced all the telephone cable with cat 5e for extra resistance and protection. So to be on the safe side I'd go cabled plus its cheaper and definitely more reliable.
And Thanks I hope my set up gets tested this storm season so I can see if it was worth it, plus I thought I'd do it properly once rather then having to fix it all the time for doing a half assed job. But if you follow the same way I set my wind pole up its holds up pretty well and so far the strongest wind I've recorded was around 75kmh and no movement whatsoever. But I agree best plan ahead and make it cyclone proof rather then thinking it'll never hit and it getting destroyed when one does come.

Thanks Again Guys

Clayton
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#1002838 - 26/07/2011 18:40 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
Hi Everyone

Just thought I'd post that my weather station will be offline for a couple weeks as I'm renovating my room (Shed) so I didn't want the data to become on and off and not be consistent so I've unplugged it for the time being while its being done, but when its done I'll post an update and some new links to the weather data on Weather Underground as I'll be setting up a new page too.

Thanks again

Clayton
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#1002944 - 27/07/2011 18:47 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Popeye]
pabloako Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 30/03/2007
Posts: 1664
Loc: Ocean View, Queensland
I spoke to a guy in the USA and he said that it is illegal for us to import a USA wireless model because of the wireless frequency issue. I don't know if it is actually illegal, but you may get some unhappy official looking people knocking at your door when you know out some other radio communications.
Stick to the cabled ones.
_________________________
Ocean View, QLD. (Alt. 412m)

FV3 GFS + Long Range - http://www.OceanViewWeather.com.au/GFS

Top
#1003007 - 27/07/2011 22:41 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: pabloako]
!SCHUMMY! Offline
Weatherzone Addict

Registered: 22/04/2008
Posts: 2915
Loc: Jimboomba, SEQ
WOW, great job clayton, looks like you've really thought this through and made it nice and sturdy! will be interesting to see what obs you get from storms as the move overhead/near by.

fingers crossed it doesnt act as a lightning rod being on top of a hill smile

Top
#1003088 - 28/07/2011 15:21 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: !SCHUMMY!]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
Thanks Yeah I can't wait to see the data I record when storm season comes around.
And I hope it doesn't act like a lightning rod either but should be pretty safe as most of its made out of
PVC pipe but if it does I'll make sure I get the picture so I'm not too depressed about it.
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
#1004778 - 07/08/2011 11:30 Re: My New Weather Station (Davis VP2) [Re: Clayton]
Clayton Offline
Weather Freak

Registered: 25/10/2009
Posts: 63
Loc: Tyalgum, NSW 2484
Hey Everyone

Due to the possible storm today I have turned the weather station back on to record any data just for today,
as my renovations to my room still aren't done but couldn't miss the chance to record a storm.

So if you want to see any data recorded
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT80
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT80

Thanks Clayton
_________________________
My Home Weather Station:
Current Conditions (Forecast) : http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=-28.353%2C153.213&sp=INEWSOUT97
History Data: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=INEWSOUT97

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Who's Online
3 registered (logansi, Alex_96L, 1 invisible), 56 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Today's Birthdays
melbell, SanatKumara, Stephen-wx, Teunvm, Tropposurfer
Forum Stats
29947 Members
32 Forums
24192 Topics
1529023 Posts

Max Online: 2985 @ 26/01/2019 12:05
Satellite Image